Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | February 3, 2015

You can’t earn what is free

“My teacher just doesn’t like me,” she thought, “I earned a 100% on that paper but I only got an 80% because my teacher just doesn’t like what I wrote about.”

“I should earn more money for my job,” he thinks, “I work harder than everyone else and I deserve more.”

“If I try harder and I’m good enough,” she thinks, “I’ll earn my way into heaven.”

How many times have I heard the confused belief that if you are good then you’ll go to heaven? But that belief is not true. How good you are has nothing to do with the final destination of your soul. In fact, we can’t earn our way to heaven at all. Believing in Jesus gives us His grace, and therefore, entry to heaven. It’s that simple.

In our culture, we get into the habit of paying for what we want, and earning our way. But that is the culture, it is not the truth of Jesus. We can never earn our way into heaven. We can’t do enough good works to make up for the fact that we are simply sinners.

Jesus has done all the work already, and we simply need to receive it. In a world where we work hard for what we want, where we earn our keep, Jesus has given us a free entrance into heaven when we simply believe in Him.

God’s Word says:

Ephesians 2:8

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God”

Titus 3:3-5

“At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit”

Leave a Reply

Categories

