Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | June 29, 2015

Smart things my parents did – Church attendance as a family

Today’s post is part of the “Smart Things My Parents Did” blog series and is written by guest writer Sue Steege. There is more information on Sue at the end of this post. Thank you, Sue, for sharing this parenting gift with us! 

My parents were not perfect. If they were with us, they’d be the first to tell you that they made a lot of mistakes. But they also did a lot of things that were really smart. One thing they did was they made weekly church attendance just part of what we did as a family. Although there were things that we had choice in (and they were good at helping us learn to make decisions), worship attendance was not one of them. It’s weird to say, but my parents didn’t really care if I “liked” church. I mean, that was an added bonus, I suppose, but it didn’t fit into any of the equation about whether we’d go or not.

I never even brought up not going (although sometimes I prayed they would sleep through their alarm), because it didn’t seem like an option. They didn’t spend any time trying to convince my brothers and I to go. We just went.

In this way, weekly worship of God became part of my DNA, part of who I am.

Pretty smart.

Sue Steege lives with her dog, Zanmi and loves Buffalo Bills football and basketball of any kind. She blogs at SusanSteege.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

