Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | July 27, 2015

Smart Things My Mom Did – A Legacy of Faith

Today’s post is part of the “Smart Things My Parents Did” blog series and is written by guest writer Karen D’Ingillo, author of the newly released book Stronghold available at Amazon.com, and also available at: karendingillo.com. Thank you, Karen, for sharing this parenting gift with us! 

My mother was the faith builder of our family. As a devout Catholic, she took to the task of instilling faith in her children very seriously.

I remember attending mass at a very young age, when the entire mass was in Latin and women were required to wear veils on their heads. I remember not understanding what was being said, and wondering why we had to wear those things on our heads. What exactly was this ritual that we did every Sunday?

Missing church was not an option. Ever. Saying my prayers at bedtime were also essential, as were religious instructions. That was instilled in me at a very young age.

As a teen, my Sunday afternoons were spent in four hours of religious instruction classes. Those were the days when businesses were closed on Sunday, so spending the afternoon at church with friends was completely acceptable. We only wished we were doing something more fun. As I prepared for my Confirmation in the church, I asked my mom why all of this ritual was necessary to have in my life. She told me that one day I would need to rely on my faith and look to this unseen God to guide me. She added that as an adult, I could make that decision for myself.

Little did I know at the time, I would lean heavily on her words of wisdom and embrace them. Only three years later, my mother passed away. I found myself digging deep for strength and relying heavily on my faith to get me through that dark time.

Following her death, I became deeply entrenched in an abusive marriage for four years. During that darkest time in my life, I found God to be my redeemer, my provider, my strength and my stronghold. “You will have to rely on your faith and look to our unseen God to guide you”. I did. God was there. I believe that I would not have survived those circumstances without my faith.

My mother’s legacy of faith was deeply instilled within my heart and mind. As my faith continued to grow deeper, I recognized God’s presence in my everyday life. His Hand of guidance, His provision and His blessings were apparent everywhere. When the day comes that I meet my mother at heaven’s gate, I will tell her how much her words of wisdom guided my life. She gave me the greatest gift of all and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

