Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | September 7, 2015

Smart Things My Parents Did – Teaching the Blessing of Family

Today’s post is part of the “Smart Things My Parents Did” blog series and is written by guest writer Carolyn Doster, a mother of three grown children. Thank you, Carolyn, for sharing this parenting gift with us!

This was an interesting question to me, because I could list a ton of things that my parents did that were very loving, but smart took on a whole new angle.  I think the smartest thing they did was instill a sense of importance about extended family. It seems that every weekend we did something with grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins too. Of course it was easy because everyone lived within a 15 mile radius!

Now, in order to be able to see all this family, you need to get along. With friends you can pick and choose, keep or move on, but with family you’re stuck with them.  So I saw my mom and dad make every effort to host events and welcome people no matter what they looked like, smelled like, or acted like; and loved them all.  They also never skipped attending a family gathering, even though there were times me and my 5 brothers and sisters begged them not to take us.  I just couldn’t understand why 65 year old aunt Betty didn’t want to play wiffleball.

But it worked, because to this day, love and priority for extended family has continued with my husband and I.  We stay in touch with my great Aunts and make it a point not to let too many years go before we visit my aunt, uncle, and six cousins in Texas.  My kids have/had a great relationship with their grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins; and they know that their family will always love and accept them no matter what.

Leave a Reply

Categories

