Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | October 19, 2015

The Choice

I love to shop in bulk. I love the feeling of putting items away in our home in large amounts, knowing I won’t need to worry about running out of them for a while…or that I won’t need to add them to my grocery list for months.

However, whenever I shop for items in bulk, I have to make active choices. Not everything I buy should be bought in bulk. I typically only buy items in bulk that:

  • We use all the time
  • We have used in the past and know we like
  • We have room to store at our home
  • We are getting a “good deal” on

Everytime I pick an item from the shelf and put it in our cart, I’m making an active choice to purchase that specific item…I’m thinking through my criteria and deciding that item meets the criteria.

As human beings we have a choice to make about our final destination. We can choose to believe in Christ or we can choose to reject him. Jesus loves us all the time, no matter what we choose. And God gave us free will…the ability to make our own decisions. He wants us to choose to believe in Him, and because of our free will it is up to us. We might use different criteria, but we all have the same choice to make.

What does God’s Word say?

John 3:16

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.

Mark 1:14-15

Now after John was arrested, Jesus came into Galilee, proclaiming the gospel of God, and saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent and believe in the gospel.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

