Posted by: Cathi Brese Doebler | July 11, 2017

Another spill?

I look down at my jeans and see another tea spill from my clumsy sip. Not a big deal, right? Except there was cream in the tea, and the tea also got on my chair. And then I remember the time I spilled tea with cream on the front seat of my car, and how I forgot to wipe it up…until an unusually hot Spring day when my car started to smell like something awful! The cream I had forgotten hadn’t gone away, but had reminded me with a smelly vengeance that I should clean up spills right away. That clear memory comes back to me every time I spill my tea, and I instantly think, “Clean it now or I’ll regret it later!”

We do that sometimes, with our pasts. We ask God for forgiveness, He grants it (‘cause He’s amazing that way), and we go forward. But once in a while we turn around and start looking back.

“Why did I do that terrible thing?” we lament. “What could I have been thinking? How could I have been so stupid?” And we begin to beat ourselves up over our mistakes. God isn’t reminding us of our errors, we are. All by our silly selves.

Yet we are told in Psalm 103:12, “…as far as the east is from the west, so far does He remove our transgressions from us.” I am so thankful for that reminder. It’s time for us to stop bringing up the spills from our past and to remember the promise we were given for forgiveness through grace from our Lord. The spill is cleaned up and accounted for…we are clean in Jesus and His grace.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

